The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting 2013 is Now Open

Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting 2013

31 January 2013 to 3 June 2013 – FREE to enter – with a total prize fund of £40,000.

The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting is the UK’s biggest national competition for playwriting. It is the search for great new plays and great writers. From aspiring playwrights to established masters of the art, the Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting 2013 is now OPEN to discover, promote and produce the very best new writing for theatre. And they need your scripts!

This year’s Chair of judges, Dame Jenni Murray, comments: “Plays explore the great ideas of our time. They can be personally provocative, politically insightful and provide audiences with great conversation long afterwards. Plays can make you see the world in an entirely new way, rip your heart out and mend it again. Without discovering and supporting a new generation of playwrights, these stories might never be told.”

Michael Oglesby, Chairman of Bruntwood, adds: “With continued cuts to arts funding, competitions like the Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting are now more important than ever. As we discovered last autumn with the Bruntwood Prize Roadshow, there is a huge appetite for playwriting in this country. New plays are vital for sustaining our theatres and stimulating their audiences. We are proud to be working in partnership with the Royal Exchange for the fourth cycle of the Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting that has launched the careers of some exceptional playwrights.”

Writers: you have until 3 June to submit your scripts which, unlike other competitions, must be entered anonymously. Go to to find out how to enter and how to submit your script.

The winner of the 2013 prize will receive £16,000, and there will also be three Judges’ Awards of £8,000 each. All four award winners will have the chance to develop their play with the Royal Exchange, with a view to production. In addition, leading theatre publishers Nick Hern Books,, will publish all winning plays that receive a production at the Exchange, ensuring that the plays reach an even wider audience and have the opportunity of a vibrant after life in the amateur performance sector. Dame Jenni Murray is joined on the judging panel by the award-winning playwrights David Eldridge and Tanika Gupta MBE; Associate Director of the National Theatre, Marianne Elliott; actress, Suranne Jones; Artistic Director of the Royal Exchange Theatre, Greg Hersov; theatre critic, Benedict Nightingale and Chairman of Bruntwood, Michael Oglesby CBE

How to book:
[email protected]