Marsh Awards

Engage, the National Association for Gallery Education and the Marsh Christian Trust are delighted to announce the Marsh Awards for Excellence in Gallery Education 2018.

The Awards, which recognise and celebrate the achievements of those working in learning and education within gallery or visual arts contexts (freelance, salaried or as volunteers) in the UK and internationally, grant winners £500 to spend on their professional development.


Nominations Deadline: 10am, Monday 3 September 2018.


The Awards

Awards of £500 each will be offered to five individuals in the UK and one internationally, working in learning or education in or for galleries or visual arts organisations, who have shown dedication or innovation in their work. The Awards will be announced at the Engage International Conference in Manchester 13-14 November 2018.

Winners should use the Award to support their Continuing Professional Development (CPD) and each will be asked to complete a short feedback form by March 2019.

Since 2011, the Awards have successfully enabled winners to develop their arts education practice through funding attendance of courses and conferences, the joining of professional associations, visiting of good practice in the UK and abroad, funding of research, and by inspiring personal and professional confidence through the recognition of their work.


Who can be nominated?

Nominations are encouraged for colleagues at all stages of their careers, working freelance, in salaried positions or as volunteers. Engage welcomes nominations for those working with organisations of all sizes. Nominations for non-members of Engage are also invited. Nominators should be a colleague or a representative of an organisation who has worked with the nominee.

If you made a nomination in previous years please feel free to do so again – we would be pleased to consider your nomination in 2018. Engage wishes to thank colleagues for the very high standard of applications received in the past seven years.


How to make a nomination

Click here to download a Nomination Form. 
Please complete this and email to [email protected] by 10am, Monday 3 September 2018.

If you are nominating someone, please let them know you are doing so and consult with them about the application; we would like to know how each nominee would like to use the award for their Continuing Professional Development. There are only five questions to answer on the form, and nomination should take less than an hour to complete.

Judging criteria and process

Nominations should demonstrate how nominees have exceeded the expectations of their role, by showing dedication or innovation in their work.

Judging will take place and winners informed in late September. A panel of experts in gallery education along with representatives from the Marsh Christian Trust and Engage will select the winners. The Awards will be presented during the Engage International Conference in Manchester (13-14 November 2018). The Award ceremony will include a description of the winners’ education work and achievements, and winners will be invited to submit a short video about their work to screen. UK winners will be offered travel expenses (up to £150) to attend the Awards event, dinner and a complimentary day place to attend Conference on the day of the ceremony or the following day (regretfully, we cannot offer travel expenses for international winners to attend the Award presentation). 

If you have any queries please contact Ailbhe Mac Eoin, Communications Officer, Engage: [email protected]  / 020 7729 5858.
Engage is committed to equality of access. Should you need nomination details in another format please contact engage on: 020 7729 5858 / [email protected]


About the Marsh Awards

The Marsh Christian Trust was founded in 1981 as a grant-making body. The trust runs an Awards scheme of some 75 Awards run in partnership with organisations across the fields of the Arts, Heritage, Social Welfare and Conservation. The trust works in partnership with organisations, such as engage, to identify the best candidates and deliver these awards. The Marsh Awards for Excellence in Gallery Education were launched in 2011 as an annual award to recognise those working in Gallery Education who have shown dedication or innovation in their work. 

Scroll to Top