Information & Links

Multi-arts

Arcadea – previously Northern Disability Arts Forum: www.arcadea.org

Arts Council of Wales: www.artswales.org.uk

Arts Care (professional arts organisation in West Wales with 20+ years delivering high quality projects with people of all ages, backgrounds and lifestyles): www.acgc.co.uk

Arts & Disability Forum, based in Belfast: www.adf.ie

Arts & Disability Ireland: www.adiarts.ie

Artsline – access information (arts, leisure and entertainment): www.artsline.org.uk

Art + Power (group of disabled artists based in Bristol): www.artandpower.com

DASh (Disability Arts in Shropshire): www.dasharts.org

Disability Arts Online: www.disabilityartsonline.org.uk

Edward Lear Foundation ­ disability arts think-tank: www.learfoundation.org.uk

Extant (arts production company run by blind professionals): www.extant.org.uk

First Movement (experimental arts projects for people with learning disabilities): www.first-movement.org.uk

Full Circle Arts (Disabled Artists’ Support Agency): www.fullcirclearts.co.uk

Heart ‘N Soul (creative opportunities for people with learning disabilities): www.heartnsoul.co.uk

Holton Lee (find time and space for personal growth through access to the arts and the natural environment.): www.holtonlee.co.uk/arts

International Guild of Disabled Artists and Performers: www.igodap.org

National Arts & Disability Center (USA): http://nadc.ucla.edu

Shape (disability-led arts organisation working to improve access to culture for disabled people.): www.shapearts.org.uk

VisAble – agency for disabled models and actors: www.visablepeople.com

Visual Arts & Craft

The Art House:
(exists to “ensure that disabled and non-disabled artists have equal access to facilities and opportunities in the visual arts”). www.the-arthouse.org.uk

National Institute for Art & Disabilities in California, USA (an innovative visual arts center assisting adults with developmental and other physical disabilities.). www.niadart.org

Artists First (a group of 16 disabled visual artists with learning difficulties based in Bristol): www.artistsfirst.org.uk

Project Ability, Scotland www.project-ability.co.uk

Theatre

Deafinitely Theatre (We are an independent, professional Deaf-led company.): www.deafinitelytheatre.co.uk

Drama Association of Wales (exists to create opportunities for people to become actively involved in theatre activities which are rewarding, fun and of a high standard): www.dramawales.org.uk

Graeae Theatre Company (a force for change in world-class theatre, breaking down barriers, challenging preconceptions and boldly placing disabled artists centre stage): www.graeae.org

Hijinx Theatre and Odyssey Theatre (create high quality theatre which is accessible, entertaining and challenging for small communities throughout Wales and England.): www.hijinx.org.uk

Mind the Gap (Award-winning theatre by actors with learning disabilities): www.mind-the-gap.org.uk

Turtle Key Arts – performing arts company (manages and devises performance arts projects with a particular emphasis on original and groundbreaking work): www.turtlekeyarts.org.uk

Dance

Anjali dance company (dancers with learning disabilities): www.anjali.co.uk

Axis Dance Company ­ (integrated dance company, USA.): www.axisdance.org

CandoCo (contemporary dance company of disabled and non-disabled dancers): www.candoco.co.uk

StopGAP Dance Company (integrated dance company, Surrey, UK): www.stopgap.uk.com

Music

Attitude is Everything (improving deaf and disabled people’s access to live music): www.attitudeiseverything.org.uk

Community Music Wales (Wales’s leading music charity): www.communitymusicwales.co.uk

Drake Music Project (breaks down disabling barriers to music through innovative approaches to learning, teaching and making music): www.drakemusic.org

Orpheus Centre (Surrey based – promote transition and personal development through the arts): www.orpheus.org.uk

Literature

Literature Wales (National Company for the development of literature in Wales): www.literaturewales.org

FWWCP (The Federation of Worker Writers and Community Publishers) myweb.tiscali.co.uk/thefwwcp/Index.htm

Writernet (help for writers) www.writernet.co.uk

The Chicago Manual of Style (state-of-the-art recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices in the digital age): www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/

WritersCafe (an online writing community where writers can post their work, get reviews, befriend other writers, and much more..): www.writerscafe.org

Writing Forward (a creative writing blog packed with tips and ideas that will inspire and inform your writing projects): www.writingforward.com

Great Writing (submit a piece of creative writing, and allow others to offer advice and constructive criticism): www.greatwriting.co.uk

Write Words (Writers’ community, jobs, directory, courses and more): www.writewords.org.uk

Myslexia (the magazine for women who write): www.mslexia.co.uk/

Film & Media

PTFF (Picture this…film festival is both a competitive and exhibition festival) www.ptff.org/

Mubi Lists (a round-up of disability representation in film, with clips) mubi.com/lists/disability-in-film

Films involving disabilities (a detailed list of 2,500 feature films which involve in one way or another various disabilities) disabilityfilms.tripod.com

Disability Movies (reviews of movies with a disability interest) disabilitymovies.com

Individual Artists

Bill “CrutchMaster” Shannon, performer (USA) www.whatiswhat.com

David Roche, comedian (USA): www.davidroche.com

Julie McNamara, performer: www.juliemc.com

King Gimp, aka Dan Keplinger (USA): www.kinggimp.com

Laurence Clark, comedian: www.laurenceclark.co.uk

Mat Fraser, performer: www.matfraser.co.uk

Ju Gosling, multimedia storyteller: www.ju90.co.uk

Tony Heaton, artist, sculptor, fiddler of bits: www.tonyheaton.co.uk/

Tanya Raabe, Painter: www.tanyaraabe.co.uk

Caroline Cardus, Visual Artist and Writer: www.carolinecardus.com

Liz Carr, Ouch! journalist and disabled comedienne: www.lizcarr.co.uk/

Crippen, the UK’s leading Disabled cartoonist: www.crippencartoons.co.uk

Claire Cunningham, multi-disciplinary performer and choreographer: www.clairecunningham.co.uk/

Tanyaleedavis, 3 foot 6 inch standup comedian: www.tanyaleedavis.com/

Rachel Gadsden, Award-winning visual artist: www.rachelgadsden.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk

Noëmi Lakmaier, Installations, objects, processes and text: www.noemilakmaier.co.uk/

Alison Lapper, painting, photography, digital imaging and installation: www.alisonlapper.com

Simon Mckeown, fine artist well know for his Motion Disabled series : www.simon-mckeown.com/

Kaite O’Reilly, award winning playwright: www.kaiteoreilly.com/

Penny Pepper, writer, spoken word performer and veteran disability arts activist: www.pennypepper.co.uk/

Charlie Swinbourne, Award-winning scriptwriter, journalist and director: charlieswinbourne.com/

Aaron Williamson, Performance Artist: www.aaronwilliamson.org/

Stephen Wiltshire, artist who draws and paints detailed cityscape: www.stephenwiltshire.co.uk

 

Comments are closed.